Governance and Management

The Club prides itself on its robust governance and management structure. We are fortunate to have had the support of influential Presidents and Chairmen throughout our history, all of whom have helped guide the Club to ensure both its current and future success.

The Club’s Presidents

The Club was awarded its royal title by King Edward VII in 1907 but even before this, the Club had significant royal involvement. The first President of the Club was the Duke of Sutherland, who was appointed in 1904 and held the position until 1911. He was followed as President by the Duke of Connaught from 1911 until 1942. The Duke of Kent was President for one year from (1942-1943), before Earl Mountbatten of Burma then maintained the post until 1979. Our current President, HRH Prince Michael of Kent GCVO, took over in 1979 and has held the position ever since.

The Chairman, Board and Standing Committees

The governing body of the Club is known as the Committee (Board of Directors) presided over by the Chairman, currently Ben Cussons. Please click here to view the Committee Board Members.

We also have four Standing Committees to support the main Committee. These are the Pall Mall Committee, the Woodcote Park Committee, the Elections Committee and the Motoring Committee.

The members of these committees can be seen here.

Each of the Club’s activities is overseen by a committee of members. Information on these can be viewed in the Activities section of this website.

Please click on the links below to view the Terms of Reference for each committee:

The Pall Mall Committee
The Woodcote Park Committee
The Elections Committee
The Motoring Committee

If you would like to become more involved in the governance of the Club and join a committee, please contact the Membership Team at

Special Members

The panel of Special Members was set up in 1998 when the Club separated from RAC Motoring Services. The Club’s constitution provides that its income and property may not be paid out or distributed to members. The Special Members’ entrenched powers are designed to prevent these provisions being changed without their consent.

List of Special Members

Club Management

The Club Management Committee is led by Daniel Pereira, the Club’s Chief Executive & Club Secretary. It is made up of eight members who manage the running of the Club on a day-to-day basis. They are supported by management teams in each clubhouse.

The members of this committee can be seen here.

Memorandum and Articles of Association, Club Rules and By-Laws

All members and guests are required to abide by the Club’s Rules and By-Laws which can be downloaded below.

Club Rules
Club By-Laws
Articles of Association