Motoring Book of the Year

The stories behind two American motorsport legends – Richie Ginther and Shadow – were awarded top honours at 2020’s Royal Automobile Club Motoring Book of the Year Awards.

Richie Ginther: Motor Racing’s Free Thinker by Richard Jenkins scooped Motoring Book of the Year, which is presented to an exceptional book that is judged to have a wide appeal and which costs no more than £75. Specialist Book of The Year – awarded to a book that represents a feat of impeccable research and flawless writing regardless of its retail cost – went to Shadow: The Magnificent Machines of a Man of Mystery, written by Pete Lyons and published by Evro.

The awards – now in their seventh year – took place as a virtual event on 28 October 2020.