The Torrens Trophy

For ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Cause or Technical Excellence of Safe and Skilful Motorcycling in the UK’, the Torrens Trophy was first inaugurated in 1978 in memory of Arthur Bourne, a motorcycling journalist. Writing a column under the name Torrens, Bourne was also a vice-chairman of the Royal Automobile Club.

The trophy is awarded to an individual or organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution in the United Kingdom to:

  • The cause of safe and skilful motorcycling
  • Technical excellence to further the cause of motorcycling
  • Showing outstanding skill in international motorcycling sporting events.

The Royal Automobile Club has always had a close association with the motorcycling world. The Club formed the Auto Cycle Club in 1903, which went on to become the Auto Cycle Union in 1947. The first Tourist Trophy race was held on the Isle of Man in 1905 for cars ‒ two years before the first TT for motorcycles.

Latest Winner

Triumph Motorcycles is the latest winner of the prestigious Torrens Trophy for its sterling work in the Moto2 World Championship.

Previous Winners

MotoGP stalwart Mike Trimby for his tireless work to improve circuit safety and represent the riders, teams and commercial side of MotoGP.

The Crescent Yamaha team for winning the riders, teams & manufacturers titles in the 2021 FIM World Superbike Championship.

Emma Bristow for claiming her 7th consecutive FIM Women’s Trial World Championship.

Peter Hickman for his three Isle of Man TT victories and for setting the world’s fastest road race lap record of 136.415 mph at the Ulster GP.

Tai Woffinden for being the most successful British speedway rider in history.

Jonathan Rea MBE for being the first rider to win three consecutive World Superbike Championships.

MotoGP racer Cal Crutchlow for being first British rider to win a premier class World Championship Motorcycle Grand Prix in 35 years.

Eleven-time TT winner Ian Hutchinson for his outstanding determination, courage and overcoming adversity to win multiple TTs.

Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne for becoming the first man in history to be crowned MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship on four occasions (2003, 2008, 2012 and 2014).

Tom Sykes for being crowned the 15th World Superbike Champion, the fourth from Great Britain and only the second rider to win for Kawasaki in the series for 20 years.

World Superbike Champion James Toseland was awarded the Trophy for his immense contribution to raising the profile of motorcycle racing in this country.

Ian Kerr MBE of the Metropolitan Police for 20-years of tireless work in promoting safe and responsible motorcycling.

BMW in recognition for their contribution to motorcycle safety through their development of their anti-lock braking system.

Dave Taylor MBE for his vast contribution to motorcycle road safety.

Transport and Road Laboratory.

Lieutenant-Colonel Fredrick Lovegrove OBE.