Now in its eighth consecutive season, the Royal Automobile Club Motoring Book of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate the best automotive books, authors and publishers, and this has proved to be a truly vintage year.

Simon Taylor, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club Motoring Book of the Year committee, said “The judges had to consider a record number of submissions, with 52 entries representing 26 different publishers from the UK and internationally, from major houses and independents to self-published authors. The standard has been overwhelming, with an impressive and diverse list of titles across all categories. The judges had a tough time scrutinising every one for originality of subject matter, writing style, depth of research, and quality of illustration and production. Then they had to co-ordinate their findings to select the finalists in each of the four award categories, plus the overall trophy winner”.

The Awards have been greatly expanded in 2021 to reflect the growing number of important works being published at different price levels in the motoring and motor-sporting fields. They now consist of four individual categories, in addition to the overall Book of the Year. This trophy will be awarded to a title in any category that is considered by the judges to stand above every other.

As well as revealing the winners on Wednesday 3 November 2021, the Club will also announce the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award, to recognise an individual who has made a significant contribution to the UK’s motoring book industry. Its first recipient, awarded in 2019, was John Haynes OBE, creator of the iconic Haynes manuals and founder of the Haynes Publishing Group.

The event will also see the introduction of the inaugural Graham Robson Trophy for Best Debut Author, recognising an outstanding book by a previously unpublished author.

Jeremy Vaughan, Head of Motoring at the Royal Automobile Club said “Graham Robson has had more motoring books published in the UK than any other author. He can be credited with nearly 170 titles to his name, covering subjects such as classic cars, marque histories and rallying. Each was meticulously researched, authoritative and highly readable. It seemed most fitting for The Royal Automobile Club to honour Graham’s valuable contribution to the industry with the ‘Best Debut Author’ perpetual trophy. We are sure that he would approve.”

The annual awards will take place on Wednesday 3 November 2021 from 6.00-9.00pm at a special evening held at the Club’s historic Pall Mall clubhouse, amongst guests from the worlds of publishing, motoring and motorsport.


In alphabetical order, the 2021 Royal Automobile Club Motoring Book of the Year Award finalists are:

Motoring Book of Year (Below £50.00)

Excess All Areas – British Kit Cars of the 1970s by Richard Heseltine, published by Performance Publishing, priced £27.00

JUE 477 The Remarkable History & Restoration of the World’s First Production Land-Rover by Martin Port, published by Porter Press International, priced £30.00

Secret Fords – The hidden world of never-seen prototypes, one-offs and cancelled cars by Steve Saxty, published by Seven Spoke, priced £39.95

Tipping Point- Designing a Great British Underdog

Andy Plumb, published by Lead-In Design, priced £44.99


Motoring Book of the Year with no price limit

Aston Martin & LM10 by Jonathan Wood, published by Hugh and Miranda Palmer priced £75.00

Joseph Figoni: Le Grand Couturier de la Carrosserie Automobile Volume 1, Alfa-Romeo by Peter M Larsen & Ben Erickson, published by Moteurs! priced £195.00

The Lamborghini Miura by Simon Kidston & Jon Pressnell, published by Kidston SA, priced £450.00

Timeless Mahindra by Adil Jal Darukhanawala, published by DJ Media, priced £90.00


Motorsport Book of the Year (Below £50.00)

Ken Miles – The Shelby American Years by Dave Friedman, published by Car Tech Books, priced £35.00

Mr. Le Mans, Tom Kristensen by Tom Kristensen with Dan Philipsen, published by Evro Publishing, priced £40.00

Quest for Speed The Epic Saga of Record-Breaking On Land by Barry John, published by Evro Publishing, priced £20.00

Racing in the Dark – When the Bentley Boys Conquered Le Mans by Peter Grimsdale, published by Simon & Schuster (UK) Ltd, priced £20.00


Motorsport Book of the Year with no price limit

Delage Records & Grand Prix by Daniel Cabart & Sébastien Faurès Fustel de Coulanges, published by Orep Editions, priced £150.00

Grand Prix 1961-1965 – The 1.5 litre days in Formula One by Jörg-Thomas Födisch, Rainer Rossbach, Nils Ruwisch, published by McKlein Publishing, priced £94.90

Jochen Rindt – A Champion with Hidden Depths by Dr. Erich Glavitza, published by McKlein Publishing, priced £94.90

Ultimate McLaren F1 GTR The Definitive History by Mark Cole, published by Porter Press International, priced £450.00