The Goodwood Revival's Royal Automobile Club TT Celebration race 2017

British racing driver Roy Salvadori once said, ‘Give me Goodwood on a summer’s day and you can forget the rest of the world’, and how right he was. For this year’s Revival weekend, however, the sunshine was sparse. But that made for some exceptionally close and entertaining racing.

The Goodwood Revival is one of the most popular events on the motorsport calendar and with several Royal Automobile Club members competing throughout the weekend, the Motoring Team was out in force to show its support.

The Club was also delighted to play a role in the Royal Automobile Club Tourist Trophy Celebration race, arguably the most prestigious race on the Revival racecard. The Tourist Trophy, which was originally founded by the Club in 1905 on the Isle of Man, was first hosted at Goodwood in 1958 until 1964, drawing many of the legendary names in Formula 1 to compete in some of the most desirable GTs of their time at the Goodwood Motor Circuit.

Today, the TT Celebration race is a two-driver challenge for closed-cockpit GT cars of 1960 to 1964, from Aston Martins and Ferraris, through to Jaguars and ACs, with one driver change allowed to take place throughout the one-hour duration. In true tradition, this year’s TT Celebration race was packed with nail-biting action and presented a controversial result.

Chairman of the Club’s Motoring Committee, Peter Read, alongside Vice President of the Club and founder of the Goodwood Revival, Lord March, was proud to present the trophy to the winning drivers Michael Gans and Andy Wolfe, but their AC Cobra wasn’t the first car to cross the finish line.

Whilst Shedden had built up a lead in the E-type, which looked slightly less pristine at the end of the race than it did at the beginning, with five minutes left to run, Ward and Shedden were given a 30-second penalty for a prior clash with the Bryant/Smith Cobra, which demoted them to second place and promoted Gans and Wolfe to victory.

The Club was also thrilled to see several of its members competing in other races throughout the weekend, including Nigel Batchelor in the Richmond Trophy and Derek Bell and Michael Quinn in the Kinrara Trophy, which was dominated by Jaguars, with member Gregor Fisken placing second, alongside last year’s winner Tom Kristensen, in their Jaguar E-type.

Patrick Blakeney-Edwards competed in a number of races, from the Kinrara and Goodwood Trophy races, through to the Freddie March Memorial Trophy, Brooklands Trophy and also the TT Celebration race.

Ben Cussons and Karsten Le Blanc, meanwhile, drove in both the Kinrara Trophy and the Freddie March Memorial Trophy, in which Katarina Kyvalova was also competing.

Latest News

Staff Awards

Read more

BLOODHOUND Supersonic Car Project Back on Track

Read more

From the Bookshelf: Indianapolis Motor Speedway & 110 years of racing

Read more

RAC Foundation - Britain's Bridges

Read more