Motor Racing Legends Awards at Pall Mall

On Wednesday 18 January, Motor Racing Legends held their annual awards dinner at the Pall Mall clubhouse. As well as celebrating last year’s winners, they announced a new certification programme for verifying engine capacities for the Historic Touring Car Challenge.

The evening was hosted by Motoring Committee member Duncan Wiltshire, also Chairman of Motoring Racing Legends. Among the awards on offer was the Club’s own Woodcote Trophy, which Fred Wakeman and Patrick Blakeney-Edwards (pictured above) took home for the second year in a row. Launched in 2006, the Woodcote Trophy is a race series for genuine sports-racers of the post-war era, up to and including December 1955. Organised and managed by Motor Racing Legends, the races are at least one hour long, for two drivers, and held at premier historic race meetings.

Other trophy winners included Tony Wood and Will Nuthall (Lister Jaguar Knobbly) who raised the famous Stirling Moss Trophy, won by Moss for his first ever British Grand Prix win in 1955 at Aintree. Sam Stretton (Alta Sports) walked away with the Motor Racing Legends Pre-War Sports Car Trophy.

Tim Keown won the Motor Racing Legends Trophy, a fitting tribute as this is the tenth anniversary of the Woodcote Trophy and Tim was instrumental in the origination of the series as Royal Automobile Club Chairman ten years ago.

A list of all the class winners can be found at

Latest News

Staff Awards

Read more

BLOODHOUND Supersonic Car Project Back on Track

Read more

From the Bookshelf: Indianapolis Motor Speedway & 110 years of racing

Read more

RAC Foundation - Britain's Bridges

Read more