Entries Open for the Club's Dewar Trophy

Entries are now being invited for the most prestigious award in British engineering. The Royal Automobile Club’s Dewar Trophy celebrates outstanding British technical achievement in the automotive industry and can trace its history back to 1904, when the silver trophy was presented to the Club by Sir Thomas Dewar MP. The first recipient was Dennis Brothers Limited of Guildford, in 1906.

The trophy is awarded only in years in which the Club’s Technical Committee believes that there are contenders of sufficient merit, and the list of previous winners includes some of the greatest names in motoring history. Rover was recognised in 1950 for its work on gas-turbine cars, and Dunlop received the trophy in 1957 for its development of disc brakes as well as tyres for the record-breaking MG EX181.

In 1959, the Dewar Trophy was awarded to the British Motor Corporation and Alec Issigonis for ground-breaking designs including the Mini, and 10 years later Keith Duckworth was the recipient, having revolutionised Grand Prix racing with the Cosworth DFV engine.

In recent years, it has continued to celebrate automotive landmarks as well as Britain’s ongoing excellence in engineering, and has been presented to Ford for its 1-litre Eco-Boost powerplant, Gordon Murray Design for the application of its iStream technology, and Jaguar for the development of its all-electric I-PACE.

Entries are invited covering all aspects of automotive technical innovation, including – but not limited to – lightweight structures, hybrid powertrains, efficiency improvements in internal combustion engines, aerodynamics, racing-car technology, fuel cells, vehicle electrical systems, and safety.

The Committee is also looking for possible candidates for the Simms Silver Medal which, in particular, recognises outstanding efforts by smaller organisations or individuals especially where the achievement embodies a spirit of adventure.

All entries will be judged by the Dewar Technical Committee, which is made up of leading experts from across the automotive industry. Chaired by John Wood MBE – a former President of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers – the committee also includes Royal Automobile Club Chairman Ben Cussons, best-selling motor sport author Karl Ludvigsen, engineering consultant Alec Osborn MBE, Autocar Editor-in-Chief Steve Cropley, motor racing engineer Pat Symonds, journalist Charles Armstrong-Wilson, and Professor David Greenwood from Warwick University.

The Dewar Trophy is free to enter, and nominations must be submitted by Wednesday 31 July 2019. The final shortlist will be revealed in September, with the winner being announced in a ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club’s famous Pall Mall Clubhouse in London on Wednesday 30 October.

To download the entry form please click here

Latest News

'Seven for Seventy' - Celebrating Formula 1's Anniversary

Read more

Legends of Le Mans

Read more

The Greats of British Touring Cars

Read more

RAC Foundation News: The 2020 Budget - What It Means for Motorists

Read more