As the home of UK motoring, the Club has a rich heritage reflected in its collections. These collections can be consulted within the Library and Archive.
The Library is situated on the first floor of the Pall Mall clubhouse. Specialising in motoring and motorsport, many of the 6,000 publications are available for Members to borrow. The Library also houses a diverse range of magazines catering for all interests which can be viewed in the peaceful, historic setting of the Library.
The Archive houses around 30,000 original manuscripts. It is situated at Westminster Archive Centre, 10 St Ann’s Street, SW1. Material dates from the inception of the Club in 1897 to the present day and can be viewed by prior appointment through the heritage team who are based in the Pall Mall Library:
Please be aware that on occasion, part of the Library is used for Bridge lessons and competitions. The Library is still open for members to use during these times, however there will be some noise.
Telephone: 020 7747 3398 / 020 7747 3350 / 01376 229650
Heritage staff are happy to assist with enquiries. Members can also bring in their own laptop, or use one of the Club’s laptops or desktops to conduct their own research.
Non-Members can access heritage facilities by prior appointment. The catalogue of heritage collections can be accessed by clicking on the heritage homepage of this website and `search the collections’. The heritage homepage also contains online exhibitions.
The Motor House at Woodcote Park is also available for members to view, with regular Friday morning tours during the warmer months and by appointment-only during the winter months. Advance booking is required at firstname.lastname@example.org