Choir

The Club Choir leads the Club’s carol concerts at Pall Mall and Woodcote Park each Christmas as well as singing events at the clubhouses with a number of exciting and innovative guest conductors
Our members vary from those who have never sung or read music before to those who are members of other choral groups, or even have a background in the music industry. The common theme is an enjoyment of music and the sense of achievement we all get from singing as part of a friendly group.

Musical Director

 

The Club Choir Committee is pleased to announce that Ian Holiday, a Club member, has joined the Choir Committee as Musical Director. He is looking forward to developing the Choir once live group singing is considered a safe activity.

Ian’s experience over 41 years of teaching includes 27 years at Epsom College, where he was Director of Music. Choral experience has included singing in Manchester Cathedral Choir (treble) and York Minster Chapter House Choir (bass) when he was a student. In York he also ran a Gilbert and Sullivan Society, and was accompanist to the York Philharmonic Male Voice Choir. During his career he has directed and conducted numerous church and school choirs, Bedworth Choral Society in the Midlands and various ‘ad hoc’ chamber, close-harmony and barbershop groups. He has conducted choirs in festivals, competitions, prestigious venues and concert halls and will therefore bring a wealth of experience and expertise to our section.

Singing Workshops and Supper Evenings

  • Woodcote Park, Tuesday 13 September, 7.00pm
    The Goslings by Frederick Bridge
    We will be learning to sing the above arrangements in just over an hour, followed by a buffet supper and wine.  Members and guests are welcome and there are no auditions.  We look forward to singing with you.
    To book please click here.

If you are keen to sing at our Christmas performances, do not forget to put the autumn rehearsal dates in your diary:

Pall Mall (6.45-8.45pm)
Tuesday 8 November
Wednesday 16 November
Tuesday 22 November
Thursday 24 November
Wednesday 30 November
Wednesday 7 December (rehearsal 4.30pm, Carol Concert 6.00pm)

Woodcote Park (7.30-9.30pm)
Wednesday 9 November
Tuesday 15 November
Wednesday 23 November
Tuesday 29 November
Thursday 1 December
Thursday 8 December (rehearsal 4.30pm, Family sing-along 5.00pm, Carol Concert 7.15pm)

Singers can attend rehearsals at both or either clubhouse. We hope that singers will be able to attend all three performances.