Chess Committee

Chess Committee President

Henry Mutkin: Honorary President – appointed 2013, life

Chess Committee Officers

Stephen Meyler: Chairman – elected September 2013, renewal/retirement September 2021
Henry McWatters: Honorary Secretary – elected October 2017, renewal/retirement October 2023

Chess Committee Members

Duco Bloemers: elected January 2020, renewal/retirement January 2023
Richard Jones: elected March 2020, renewal/retirement March 2023
Svetlana Broussova: elected January 2020, renewal/retirement January 2023
Piers Fox: elected September 2012, renewal/retirement September 2021
Richard Hughes: elected February 2019, renewal/retirement February 2022
Natasha Regan: elected September 2015, renewal/retirement September 2021
Michael Yeoh: elected January 2020, renewal/retirement January 2023

Chess Committee Standing Member

Robert Matthews: – appointed January 2020

Latest Meeting Action Points  – 25 March 2021

Terms of Reference

1. Club Governance. So far as governance of the Club is concerned, the Board of the Royal Automobile Club Limited and The Committee (of the Club) are the same body (Rules 7- 12). Thus, the Board, which is elected by the membership, exercises sole authority over all aspects of the Club’s affairs.

2. Delegation of Authority. The Board delegates authority for the implementation of Club Strategy and the day-to-day management of the Club to the Secretary and the Club Management Committee. The Club’s four Standing Committees (Pall Mall, Woodcote Park, Elections, Motoring), Sub Committees and Activity Committees are established by the Board. The Board appoints members of Standing Committees and appoints Chairmen of Sub Committees, Activity Committees and Working Groups. The purpose of these Committees and Groups is to act as a sounding board, representing the interests of all members, and to provide advice to the Board and guidance to the Club
Management Committee.

Chess Committee

3. Officers of Committee:
• Chairman. Appointed by the Board.
• Match Captain. Appointed annually by the Committee.
• Honorary Secretary. Appointed annually by the Committee.
• Officers. Appointed annually by the Committee.
• Committee Members.
• Standing Member (non-voting). Only if required, see paragraph 8.

4. Numbers on Committee:
• Minimum. Six
• Maximum. Twelve

5. Appointment of Officers. Any new appointment shall be by recommendation by majority vote of the Committee. The name of any person so proposed will be submitted to the Pall Mall House Committee for approval. All Committees may appoint a Vice Chairman should they wish. However, no future Honorary positions such as Honorary President will be permitted.

6. Composition. All committees are to aim for no more than two thirds of their committee members to be of the same gender and are to report annually to the Pall Mall House Committee on gender composition.

7. Term on Committee.

a. Committee Members. Two terms of three years, renewable thereafter by the Chairman of the Committee, who must seek approval from the Pall Mall House Committee to offer further terms of one year each year up to a maximum of nine years.
b. Chairman. The Chairman may serve a maximum of six years as a Committee Member and a further six years as Chairman, up to a maximum of 12 years in the aggregate.

8. Standing Member. Committees may be allowed to appoint one standing member on the committee, in addition to rotating committee members, once they have served on a committee for a maximum of nine years, but only by exception and only if they provide a function which is essential to the successful conduct of that activity. The standing member is not a full member of the committee, has no voting rights and cannot be the Chairman or Vice Chairman. Standing members are to be identified in formal documents, such as minutes of meetings.

9. Quorum. Not less than 50% of the members and the Chairman of the meeting shall have an additional casting vote if necessary.

10. Frequency of Meetings. Two formal meetings per year in February and September, plus one informal meeting of the committee.

11. Objectives. The committee has five core objectives which are listed below:
a. With management, arranging for facilities to be available for those members of the Royal Automobile Club wishing to play Chess.
b. Arranging tournaments and other events to encourage the playing of Chess within the Royal Automobile Club.
c. Arranging matches against other clubs.
d. Acting as “trustees” for the Hamilton Russell Trophy and competition.
e. With management, preparing and monitoring a Chess budget.

12. Responsibilities. The Committee has two responsibilities which are listed below:
a. Annual Reporting. Committees are required to submit an end-of-year report to the Club Secretary and the Pall Mall House Committee by 30 November on the activities conducted during the year, to seek authority for extensions of standing committee members and to report on gender composition and succession plans. This will be considered alongside the budget for the forthcoming year.
b. Representation. All committee members are representatives of the Club and have a responsibility to behave in accordance with the Club’s values, internally at Club events and activities, and externally when representing the Club.

13. Communications and Branding. Committees are to ensure that all communications are in accordance with the Club Communications Guide (including the Gender Inclusive Language Guide), and are compliant with General Data Protection Regulations 2018, seeking approval, support and guidance from the Club’s Communications Department. All branded products and merchandise, such as team sports clothes, are to be designed in accordance with the Club’s Brand Guidelines, requiring approval from the Head of Communications prior to production.