We use anonymous cookies to improve our website. For more information please read our privacy policy or click here to close.
Bentley Mother Gun

Trophies and Medals

Prev   Next
  • Every year the Club awards a series of historic trophies and medals to individuals and organisations, celebrating and recognising outstanding achievements, technical skills and innovation in motorsport.

  • Visit The Dewar Trophy site

  • Current holder John Surtees OBE

    Visit The Simms Medal site

    The Segrave Trophy is awarded to those with “the Spirit of Adventure” for the most outstanding demonstration of transportation by land, air or water. Sir Henry Segrave was the first person to hold both the land and water speed records simultaneously. In addition he was the first person to travel at over 200 mph (320 km/h) in a land vehicle. The Segrave Trophy was established in 1930 to commemorate his life.

    The Royal Automobile Club has awarded the Segrave Trophy to John Surtees OBE. The trophy was awarded at a lunch held at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall on Thursday 7 March.

    The trophy was awarded to recognise John’s unique achievement of winning seven motorcycle world championships and then victory in the 1964 Formula One World Championship. He is the only person in the history of motor sport to have been World Champion on two wheels and four.

    The trophy was commissioned by Lady Segrave in 1930, soon after her husband, Sir Henry Segrave, died after breaking the water speed record on Lake Windermere. It was her wish that the trophy would help celebrate and encourage those individuals who demonstrated outstanding skill, courage and initiative - the spirit of adventure - whether on land, sea or in the air.

    ‘It is an honour to salute John’s successes. He is one of the most distinguished, accomplished, sportsmen of all time,’ said Tom Purves Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club.


  • Current holder Lord Drayson

    Visit The Simms Medal site

    The Royal Automobile Club Simms Medal is named after the Club’s founding member Frederick Simms and is awarded to recognise a genuine contribution to motoring innovation by individuals or small companies that also exemplify the spirit of adventure.

  • Current holder Tom Sykes

    The Torrens Trophy was first awarded in 1978 in memory of Arthur Bourne, a motor cycling journalist who wrote a column under the name Torrens. Arthur Bourne was also a vice-chairman of the RAC. The trophy was awarded to an individual or organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution to the cause of safe and skilful motor cycling in Britain.

  • Current winners Allan McNish, Tom Kristensen and Loïc Duval

    Visit The Simms Medal site

    The Tourist Trophy is an award given by the Royal Automobile Club and awarded to the winners of a prestigious motor racing event for sports cars each year. It was first awarded in 1905 and continues to be awarded to this day, making it the longest lasting trophy in motorsport history. Tourist Trophy events have been part of major national and international racing series, including the World Sportscar Championship, World Touring Car Championship, European Touring Car Championship, International Sports Racing Series, FIA GT Championship, and British Touring Car Championship.


    JRM Nissan drivers Lucas Luhr and Michael Krumm scored a sensational victory in the Tourist Trophy race at Silverstone on Sunday 5 June.  Less than half a second separated the top three cars at the finish, the first feature to be based in the new iconic Silverstone Wing. Watch 2011 footage...

  • In 2006, the Royal Automobile Club and Motor Racing Legends proudly announced the launch of a new European historic race series. Called the Royal Automobile Club Woodcote Trophy, the series is for genuine sports-racers of the post-War era, up to and including December 1955. Organised and managed by Motor Racing Legends, the races are at least one hour long, for two drivers, and held at premier historic race meetings.


    2013 Royal Automobile Club Woodcote Trophy Winners:
    Malcolm Paul & Rick Bourne - Lotus X - Trophy presented by Tom Purves, Club Chairman.

    Class Winners:
    Class C2:   John Ure & Nick Wigley Cooper Bristol T25/26
    Class C3:   Mark Midgley & Chris Woodgate Aston Martin DB3
    Class C3a: Malcolm Paul & Rick Bourne Lotus X
    Class C4:   Patrick Watts Allard J2
    Class C4a: Carlos Monteverde & Gary Pearson Jaguar D-type